Communiqué from the Council of Ministers of June 17, 2021


The Council of Ministers today approved a resolution that modifies the measures applicable to certain municipalities in the context of the calamity situation.

Based on data on incidence by municipality as of June 16, changes were introduced with regard to the municipalities covered by each of the decontamination phases:

  • the municipalities of Albufeira, Arruda dos Vinhos, Braga, Cascais, Lisbon, Loulé, Odemira, Sertã and Sintra are subject to the high risk measures of 1 May.
  • the municipality of Sesimbra applies the very high risk measures, dated 19 April;
  • The rules of phase 1, of June 10, apply to all other municipalities, namely the municipality of Vale de Cambra, which is moving towards decontamination.

The municipalities of Alcochete, Águeda, Almada, Amadora, Barreiro, Grândola, Lagos, Loures, Mafra, Moita, Montijo, Odivelas, Oeiras, Palmela, Sardoal, Seixal, Setúbal, Sines, Sobral de Monte Agraço and Vila Franca de Xira.

In order to contain the increase in incidence that has been verified, circulation to and from the Lisbon Metropolitan Area on weekends, between 3:00 pm on June 18th and 06:00 am on June 21st, 2021, is prohibited.

The possibility of using the Covid Digital Certificate of the European Union is hereby determined to waive the need to present proof of taking a test in cultural, sporting, corporate or family events.